webpack sucks, at least for now

Javascript is an interpreted language and by that I understand that when I hit the F5, I expect zero latency for the new script to appear in local dev environment.

When you take that away by introducing obnoxious compilers like webpack – that first needs to be told how to load, then it compiles, then concats before showing me the output, you’re already the subject of my fury.

The ‘wait time’ for compilation sucks

The reasons why I stayed all these years away from coffee script –

  1. I know how to write ‘good’ javascript and
  2. The compilation time – it sucks.

Let JS remain the interpreted language we all know and love. Don’t put your compiled language genius into it. You’re not welcome here – to the interpreted world.

Debugging is horror

you’ve to trace that line out. Imagine a project consisting of 100 small files with almost similar looking content that you concatenated and now clueless where exactly to hunt and debug.

It’s not uncommon – when you write derived components inherited from parent components, the siblings tend to look similar.

webpack – you’re a clutter builder and clarity killer. And, No. I’m not going to work in large files a.k.a monoliths just to support your existence.

Lack of build blocks

I came from an AngularJS Development environment, where I extensively used yeoman and that allows me to work on an index.html file locally which has references to locally kept css and JS.

That means we don’t have to wait for concat or compile before we hit the F5 or ctrl+r.

Plus, the library files from bower_components stay separate. In webpack, unfortunately, they become part of the compilation step.

Luckily, we’ve wiredep and usemin blocks for our rescue – which simplifies local development and gives great support for production builds.

Learn something from it. Your hotness may look tempting to fools and noobs. I ain’t one. Grow up.

Till then – happy hating.


And, I always believe there is no point in complaining, one must find a remedy. Following are some workarounds to reduce frustration:

Leave a Reply

